The Scandibérique cycle route linking Trondheim in Norway to Santiago de Compostela in Spain includes a 1,700km stretch through France and, more specifically, passes through the areas of Barbizon and Yerres, leading cyclists across landscapes that inspired many Impressionist painters.

From Fontainebleau to Nemours

The start of this portion of cycle route, accessible to all, is located close to the town of Fontainebleau and its forest, a crucible for an art movement that preceded Impressionism, the École de Barbizon, or Barbizon School. Following in Camille Corot’s footsteps, its members were determined to paint out of doors and in the moment, or “sur le motif”, going against the practices of the time. A fine collection of their works can be seen at the Musée des peintres de Barbizon. The village of Barbizon also boasts a museum dedicated to another painter who further inspired Claude Monet, notably in his handling of light, Jean-François Millet.

At Saint-Mammès, the cycle route takes riders away from the banks of the Seine to the Canal du Loing, passing through quiet green settings. Before arriving in Nemours, a stop in the pretty medieval town of Moret-sur-Loing is a must, following the Sisley trail, Sur les pas de Sisley. This artist of English parentage spent the last decades of his life here, painting many canvases, among them Le Pont de Moret, the original to be seen at the Musée d’Orsay in central Paris.

Discover the stretch of cycle route from Fontainebleau to Nemours via the Scandibérique website

The Maison Caillebotte reached via the Scandibérique cycle route

From the section of cycle route leading from Paris towards Corbeil-Essonne, it’s possible, via a short, 5km-long detour, to reach the Maison Caillebotte. This large property in Yerres, in the French département, or county, of Essonne, takes visitors on a journey back in time, to when the Impressionist artist Gustave Caillebotte spent his summers here, enchantingly painting the local landscapes and the outdoor activities then in vogue, notably boating and swimming in the river.

Favourites

Share

Practical informations
The Scandibérique cycle route around Barbizon and Yerres

76000 scandiberique.com

And also

Practical informations
The Scandibérique cycle route around Barbizon and Yerres

76000 scandiberique.com

La Scandibérique, parcours vélo qui relie Trondheim en Norvège à Saint-Jacques-de-Compostelle en Espagne, traverse la France sur plus de 1700 km et passe par la région de Barbizon et Yerres, au milieu des paysages qui ont inspiré de nombreux peintres impressionnistes.

De Fontainebleau à Nemours

Le départ de cet itinéraire, accessible à tous les cyclistes, se situe non loin de Fontainebleau et de sa forêt, berceau d’un mouvement précurseur de l’Impressionnisme, l’École de Barbizon. À la suite de Camille Corot, ces artistes se sont attachés à peindre en plein air, “sur le motif”, contrairement aux pratiques de l’époque. Une jolie collection de leurs toiles est à découvrir au Musée des peintres de Barbizon. Le village de Barbizon abrite également un musée consacré à un autre peintre qui inspira lui aussi Claude Monet dans son traitement de la lumière notamment : Jean-François Millet.

À Saint-Mammès, le parcours quitte les bords de Seine pour longer le canal du Loing dans un cadre verdoyant et intimiste. Avant d’arriver à Nemours, Moret-sur-Loing constitue un arrêt incontournable Sur les pas de Sisley. C’est en effet dans cette jolie petite ville médiévale que le peintre passa la fin de sa vie et où il peignit de nombreuses toiles parmi lesquelles Le Pont de Moret, dont l’original se trouve au Musée d’Orsay à Paris.

Découvrez le parcours de Fontainebleau à Nemours sur le site de la Scandibérique

La Maison Caillebotte depuis la Scandibérique

Depuis l’itinéraire qui part de Paris en direction de Corbeil-Essonne, il est possible d’accéder à la Maison Caillebotte en faisant un petit détour de 5 km. Cette grande propriété située à Yerres, dans l’Essonne, offre un voyage à l’époque où l’artiste impressionniste venait y passer ses étés et peindre paysages et activités de plein air à la mode telles que le canotage ou la baignade dans la rivière.

Favoris

Partagez

Infos pratiques
La Scandibérique autour de Barbizon et Yerres

76000 scandiberique.fr

Et aussi

Infos pratiques
La Scandibérique autour de Barbizon et Yerres

76000 scandiberique.fr

Tous les évènements