Looking down on the sea from a 14th-century château, the Musée de Dieppe provides unique views over the Channel. Since 1923, the castle has housed the town’s collections, focused on Dieppe’s history and its trade in ivory in particular, which brought it great riches for over three centuries.

A visit here invites visitors on a visual tour through this port on the Côte d’Albâtre via a series of paintings, engravings and drawings of the place, among them a pretty selection of Impressionist works. Dieppe became the first seaside resort in France and was early linked to Paris by rail, rapidly attracting painters, notably Impressionists. Leading cultural figures from both France and Britain met here every summer, both in town, on the beach and at the casino. A good number of landscapes of Dieppe are displayed in the museum’s permanent collections, evoking those glory days.

Gustave Courbet, who fell for a Dieppe girl, painted one fine canvas, Plage d’Étretat par un temps de neige, kept in the port’s château-museum, if painted in another resort. Later, Jacques-Emile Blanche became a regular visitor to the place, depicted in his Plage de Dieppe, as did Eva Gonzalès, sole pupil of the great painter Édouard Manet. The Château-musée de Dieppe is proud to own one canvas, Plage de Dieppe vue depuis la falaise Ouest, painted by this artist who formed part of the very exclusive little group of female Impressionists, along with Berthe Morisot and Mary Cassatt.

Works by Auguste Renoir (Portrait de Madame Paul Bérard), Eugène Boudin (Les Falaises du Pollet à Dieppe), Camille Pissarro (Vue de l’avant-port de Dieppe) and British painter Walter Sickert (Boulevard Aguado) add greatly to the collections with their depictions of the port, its surroundings and its dignitaries.

Not to be missed: in a modern building, two galleries at the end of the tour regularly feature themed temporary exhibitions, with conferences, concerts and workshops open to all based around them.

Favourites

Share

Practical informations
Château-Musée de Dieppe

rue de Chastes76200 Dieppe

Tel. :+33 (0)2 35 06 61 99

dieppe.fr

And also

Practical informations
Château-Musée de Dieppe

rue de Chastes76200 Dieppe

Tel. :+33 (0)2 35 06 61 99

dieppe.fr

All events

Surplombant la mer, dans un château du XVème siècle, le musée de Dieppe offre une vue unique sur la Manche. Depuis 1923, il abrite la collection municipale constituée autour de l’histoire de la ville et du commerce de l’ivoire qui en fit sa richesse pendant plus de 3 siècles.

La visite propose une balade dans la petite ville de la Côte d’Albâtre, à travers une série de représentations peintes, gravées ou dessinées parmi lesquelles figure une jolie sélection d’œuvres impressionnistes. Dieppe, reliée à Paris par le train et première station balnéaire de France, attire très tôt les peintres, en particulier, les Impressionnistes. L’élite culturelle française et britannique se retrouve alors chaque été entre la ville, la plage et le casino. De nombreuses peintures de paysages dieppois, présentées dans les collections permanentes, relatent ce passé glorieux.

Ainsi, Gustave Courbet, tombé sous le charme d’une Dieppoise, peint non loin de là Plage d’Étretat par un temps de neige, une toile conservée au château-musée. Il précède Jacques-Émile Blanche, un habitué de la station, et sa Plage de Dieppe, ou encore Eva Gonzalès, peintre et unique élève d’Édouard Manet. Le château-musée de Dieppe peut d’ailleurs s’enorgueillir de posséder un tableau signé par cette artiste qui fait partie, avec Berthe Morisot et Mary Cassatt, du cercle très fermé des femmes impressionnistes : Plage de Dieppe vue depuis la falaise Ouest.

Des œuvres d’Auguste Renoir (Portrait de Madame Paul Bérard), d’Eugène Boudin (Les Falaises du Pollet à Dieppe), de l’Anglais Walter Sickert (Boulevard Aguado) et de Camille Pissarro (Vue de l’avant-port de Dieppe) complètent la collection avec leurs représentations de la ville et de ses alentours, ainsi que de ses dignitaires.

À ne pas manquer : dans un bâtiment moderne, deux salles en fin de parcours accueillent régulièrement des expositions temporaires thématiques autour desquelles sont régulièrement proposés des conférences, concerts et ateliers pour tous.

Favoris

Partagez

Infos pratiques
Château-Musée de Dieppe

rue de Chastes76200 Dieppe

Tél. :+33 (0)2 35 06 61 99

dieppe.fr

Et aussi

Infos pratiques
Château-Musée de Dieppe

rue de Chastes76200 Dieppe

Tél. :+33 (0)2 35 06 61 99

dieppe.fr

Tous les évènements