In the heart of Claude Monet’s village, the Musée des Impressionnismes Giverny explores the entire history of this iconic late 19th century art movement, as well as its precursors and heirs, both French and foreign. The main collection includes works by Boudin, Monet, Bonnard and Signac, among others, not forgetting Caillebotte and his Parterre de marguerites, all displayed in a setting that was fully renovated in 2020.

Founded back in 2009, the museum also aims to show Impressionism’s influence on modern and contemporary art. Hence why a parallel collection focusing on post-Impressionism and later followers has been developed, notably benefiting from major donations. Among more recent artists represented is Joan Mitchell, a renowned representative of American Abstract Expressionism, who settled just next door to Giverny, in Vétheuil, following in Monet’s footsteps.

Every year, remarkably high-quality temporary exhibitions are put on. Centred on a single artist or on a theme, these events also try to create conversations with further creative trends from the period, much of the exhibition space given over, of course, to painting, but photography also being well represented, for example.

Along with the exhibitions, a host of activities are proposed for visitors of all ages, inviting you to experience Impressionism in different ways, via workshops, concerts, conferences and guided tours. For children, a fun interactive tale created especially for them encourages them to discover a certain number of works in the collection via an online quest that even takes them behind the scenes at the museum.

In its bucolic setting combining contemporary architecture and gardens, the Musée des Impressionnismes Giverny blends in with its natural surroundings. Located in the very spot where Monet painted his famous series of Haystacks, the garden provides you with an exceptional walk to enjoy before or after your visit to the collections. Designed to put colour to the fore, here the model of a typical formal French-style garden has been reinvented to give free rein to the imagination, creativity… and different forms of Impressionism!

Book your ticket via the museum website
Favourites

Share

Practical informations
Musée des Impressionnismes Giverny

99 rue Claude Monet27620 Giverny

Tel. : +33 (0)2 32 51 94 65

mdig.frFree entrance the 1st Sunday of each month.

And also

Practical informations
Musée des Impressionnismes Giverny

99 rue Claude Monet27620 Giverny

Tel. : +33 (0)2 32 51 94 65

mdig.frFree entrance the 1st Sunday of each month.

Au cœur du village de Claude Monet, le Musée des Impressionnismes Giverny explore toute l’histoire de ce mouvement pictural emblématique de la fin du XIXème siècle, de ses précurseurs à ses héritiers, français comme étrangers. La collection rassemble, entre autres, des œuvres de Boudin, Monet, Bonnard et Signac, sans oublier Caillebotte et son Parterre de marguerites, décor intégralement restauré en 2020.

Fondé en 2009, le musée s’attache également à montrer l’influence de l’Impressionnisme sur l’art moderne et contemporain. Ainsi, une collection parallèle, centrée sur l’Impressionnisme, le post-impressionnisme et ses suites, est développée, bénéficiant notamment de la générosité d’importants donateurs. Parmi les artistes représentés figure Joan Mitchell, une des célèbres représentantes du mouvement expressionniste abstrait américain, qui vécut juste à côté de Giverny, sur les pas de Monet, à Vétheuil.

Chaque année, des expositions temporaires d’une remarquable qualité sont programmées. Monographiques ou thématiques, elles sont également l’occasion de créer un dialogue avec la création contemporaine, faisant, bien entendu, une large place à la peinture mais aussi à la photographie.

Outre les expositions, une foule d’activités s’offre aux visiteurs de tous âges, invitant à vivre l’Impressionnisme autrement : ateliers, concerts, conférences, visites guidées. Un conte ludique interactif permet aux enfants de découvrir quelques œuvres de la collection à travers une quête en ligne, en faisant même un détour par les coulisses du musée.

Dans un cadre bucolique, mêlant architecture contemporaine et jardins, le Musée des Impressionnismes Giverny se fond dans la nature. Situé à l’endroit-même où Monet a peint ses célèbres Meules, son jardin constitue une balade incontournable avant ou après la visite des collections. Véritable éloge à la couleur, aux nuances et au vagabondage aromatique, le modèle du jardin à la française a été ici réinventé pour laisser libre cours à l’imagination, à la créativité… et aux Impressionnismes !

Réservez votre billet sur le site du Musée
Favoris

Partagez

Infos pratiques
Musée des Impressionnismes Giverny

99 rue Claude Monet27620 Giverny

Tél. : +33 (0)2 32 51 94 65

mdig.frEntrée libre le 1er dimanche de chaque mois.

Et aussi

Infos pratiques
Musée des Impressionnismes Giverny

99 rue Claude Monet27620 Giverny

Tél. : +33 (0)2 32 51 94 65

mdig.frEntrée libre le 1er dimanche de chaque mois.

Tous les évènements